“Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.”

Whenever I am asked about how my semester abroad went, or about the places I traveled to (and more importantly what was my favorite), or even about the people and friends I’ve met, I can feel my eyes start to well up. Study abroad really is a life-changing experience, and I am extremely fortunate to have experienced it.

There’s a quote that I really love and it’s actually the title of this blogpost. It’s: “Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer.” And I agree 100%.

I would be so incredibly content if I could travel for the rest of my life. It would be amazing to make a career out of it, and I know that it is possible. However, if that is not in God’s plan for me, I do intend to keep traveling whenever I get the chance.

The world is a huge place, but when you travel you learn that it actually isn’t as big as it seems. You’ll meet people who teach you to be open-minded, sharing their insights and opinions. You see that a Japanese Brazilian girl can actually share the same sentiments on relationships and dating as a Filipino American girl. You’ll watch to see just how inhabitants of a small town can function without the luxuries of the big city hundreds of miles away, and still be perfectly content. You’ll understand that different cultures value different things, and by no means does that signify that they are wrong and we are right.

Travel, indeed, makes you richer.

So does education, by the way. I took an Anthropology course for an elective credit this semester, and I genuinely enjoyed it. It helped to really solidify some of the things I learned living on a different continent. I’ve learned so much from that class, and nothing is more rewarding than that.

My oh my, it has been an amazing year – full of learning, adventure, growth, and happiness. Everything I could ask for from a year. And it was so much fun to document it.

With that, I just want to say thank you for following this blog and this little ol’ journey of mine. For those going into college or who are even already in it, I hope my time in Toulouse inspired you to look into studying abroad yourself. For those who were looking for entertaining stories, average-at-best writing, and nice pictures, hopefully you got your fix here. And finally, for those of you wanting adventure (you guys hold a special place in my heart), I hope you know that it is out there – you just have to be willing to go after it. I’m rooting for you.

Which brings me to this. Because I thoroughly enjoyed running Je veux l’aventure, I have decided to continue blogging. Thus, I am happy to say I have a new project to fill the void. Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you: Dressed in Black. It is still a work-in-progress because I want to completely change the layout and some elements to it, but it is nevertheless up and running.

Je veux l’aventure was/is a special chapter in my life, but now it is time to write the next one.

What a year it’s been.

 

Jasmin x

