The Greek Isles: Thira

More popularly known as Santorini.

IMG_1217Santorini is the epitome of postcard pretty – and I like to think of it as the Venice of Greece.

We didn’t arrive to Thira until around 7/8 in the evening because our ferry was delayed due to the really strong winds. That first night I even had to bring out my leather jacket and pants! Never in a million years did I think that would happen. But I was so happy to have warm clothes – it worked out that I was coming from London, and going to Dublin!

IMG_1204IMG_1206

One of the things that I really wanted to do in Santorini was get a fish pedicure. These fish are called surgeon fish, and what they do is eat all the dead skin on your feet and ankles – leaving you with baby soft skin.

The sensation is hard to describe. You want to believe it’s just fish kisses, but it actually really tickles. And before you even place your feet in the water, like if you’re just hovering above it, the fish know what’s coming and just wait at the surface.

It was such a weird experience! But I’d do it again.

Before we headed back to the hotel, Nitza and I saw that there was a wedding reception. I was wanting to wait and see if they would break dishes and yell “OPA!” but they never did. But like I said, the Venice of Greece. With happy couples around every corner.

IMG_1210Our only full day in Santorini consisted of an excursion to a nearby island with an active volcano and hot springs.

IMG_1234 IMG_1245 IMG_1250 IMG_1251Then, when we got back from our little excursion, we got to do another thing that I really wanted to do in Santorini!

IMG_1272 IMG_1279

Ride donkeys!

These donkeys are fast little guys! It was almost like they were racing each other to the top.

I named mine Tiny because as we were queuing up at the bottom, I was pulled from the line because this little guy was too small for all the people in front of me. Needless to say, we bonded for that ride up the hill.

IMG_1309

 

I feel sort of guilty for giving in to this tourist trap because I saw at the end how these guys were treated. These donkeys get no loving from the men who run this business, so Dee and I spent some time petting them before we headed out for some lunch.

IMG_1317 IMG_1322 IMG_1324

We ended our day in Santorini with a wine tasting and sunset-watching in Oía.

IMG_1349 IMG_1352

Oía is the part of Santorini that you see in pictures all the time, so it was amazing to actually see it firsthand. It is even more beautiful than I imagined!

IMG_1365IMG_1375IMG_1381IMG_1417

Santorini was the island that I was looking forward to the most because that was where Lena’s family lived, and more importantly Kostas ;)

It was too bad that we only had one full day there, and that our ferry arrived to Thira much later that expected. But as cheesy as it sounds, watching the sunset made it all okay.IMG_1420IMG_1430I have been so fortunate to travel and see all these places that I’ve only dreamed about visiting. My semester abroad has allowed me to have a summer abroad and make all my dreams reality.

Never have I felt such contentment before in my life.

Efharisto, Santorini.

