Athens

Greece has been on my bucket list of places to visit ever since the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and Mamma Mia, and yes I do realise that I base my travel itineraries on films way too much.

But that’s just because I’m a hopeless romantic in love with seeing the world, and the only other way to do that (besides actually going out and doing it) is to watch movies that are filmed on-location in these beautiful places.

For my Greek adventure, I had a little help from a company called EF College Break. Now, I have traveled with EF before. When I had gone to Paris after high school graduation, it was through Education First! That program was called Paris and the Chateaux, and it was a really positive experience. The program fees are pretty pricy, not going to lie. But it includes your airfare, hotels, some meals, and transportation. It’s a really great deal, and very much so stress-free.

Diana and I booked two spots for the Greek Isles tour that would take us to Athens, Mykonos, Santorini, and Ios. It was only 9 days long, including travel days for all the other travellers who were coming from the states – but there was never a dull moment.

IMG_1604

I had such a great time and met some really cool people, and I also got to experience all the beauty, charm, and insanity that is Greece and its islands. I would go back there in a heartbeat, except maybe not when Athens is so hot that I’m sweating doing nothing.

After an overnight stay at the Fiumicino Airport (in better spirits than that one time in Barcelona), Dee and I were eager to take showers and have siestas. We arrived to our hotel in Athens before the group – and our roommates – but it wasn’t long until our duo turned into a 44-some group.

IMG_0896

That first night we had a welcome mixer with some drinks and an appetiser. We made small talk and introduced ourselves and kicked off what would be a crazy week in Greece.

The “tour” started and ended in Athens, so that is where I will start with my Greece series. Athens wasn’t my favourite, maybe because it was too hot to function and there isn’t much to do there. I was forewarned though, and knew that the real fun would begin in the islands.

But Athens is amazing in the sense that it is still standing.

IMG_0927

Granted it’s in ruins. However, you have to take into consideration that this stuff dates all the back to 447 BCE. That’s really old!

IMG_0930 IMG_0931 IMG_0937

I’ve come to the conclusion that Athens is a city that you have to see at least once. And depending on if it tickled your fancy or not will determine whether you visit it again..

Like I mentioned earlier, the Greek capital was the first and last stop of the tour. So, for our very last day in Greece, Dee and I braved the heat and did our last minute souvenir shopping.

We also had our last Greek lunch together – yay for pita, tzazitki, hummus, and kalamari! I am going to miss the food a lot.

IMG_1605

ευχαριστώ πολύ!
