Windsor Castle Cheekiness

Windsor Castle is the Queen’s weekend retreat. So, it was a pleasant surprise when we found out that she was home on a Thursday.

IMG_0002 IMG_0003 IMG_0005 IMG_0006

My family and I arrived to Windsor via the Overground line and train. England had been wonderful weather-wise, but that day it decided it wanted to be cooler and cloudier. Not that that was any problem, considering that two pretty amazing things happened while we were at the castle.

IMG_0012 IMG_0013 IMG_0014

That little powder blue in the backseat of the Bentley? Yup, that’s the Queen of England.

We were on our way to the apartments, when we saw a crowd gathered in front of the palace gates. Being the curious people that they are, my parents and aunt walked over to see what was going on.

It turned out that the Queen was home, and was getting ready to leave to the “something” races; and we just so happened to be in the right place at the right time to see her leave.

I absolutely adore the Queen. She may not be my Queen, but I think she’s the cutest little thing and wish she were my grandma. Talking to you, Harry.

So we got to see the Queen! It all happened in a split second; how she managed to get into her car that fast beats me. She’s a speedy one. And apparently she waved to the crowd. I missed that due to my poor eyesight.

What my eyesight didn’t fail to miss, though, was a cheeky smile from one of the Palace Guards that my sister and I took selfies with.

He was a character. He didn’t say anything, but his actions were just priceless. Before we took our pictures, I could tell that he was getting annoyed (or bored). He obviously wasn’t taking his job seriously, but I like to think that the Queen has a wonderful sense of humor and wouldn’t go all “Off with his head” on the guy.

IMG_0018

Well, here’s to hoping!

