Le dernier jour (à Toulouse)

Five months ago I arrived in Toulouse with no real expectations as to how the semester ahead would go. I had no idea how classes worked, if I’d ever adjust to the French lifestyle, and more importantly, how this group of Erasmus students would be and if we would all get on.

Five months later and I feel as if I’ve ran a marathon, and with all the emotions that come along. I’ve never ran a marathon before, but I can only imagine it’s a very emotional experience.

There were highs, and there were lows. Mostly highs, thankfully – I am so blessed to have had such a smooth terrain to run on.

It is such a strange phenomenon. This feeling as if nothing has changed – but on the contrary, everything has changed. I feel as though I’ve grown as a person, but not only that. I feel as though I’ve experienced true happiness and life.

My last full day in Toulouse was Saturday.

I planned to just walk around aimlessly and say goodbye to the city that I’ve called home for the past semester.

I wasn’t alone on this escapade because I somehow picked up un homme guadeloupéen who wanted to show me Toulouse, even though it was my last day.

Toulouse is so lively on the weekends. After getting used to the early closing hours, it was nice to see Capitole buzzing with life.

IMG_9044 IMG_9048

It was a very relaxing day, and it ended with a small picnic at the Garonne and a circus performance in Capitole, complete with feathers and angels.

IMG_9055 IMG_9057

IMG_9059 IMG_9065 IMG_9066 IMG_9071 IMG_9072 IMG_9074It’s been a crazy 5 months. I’ve met some very great people whom I consider good friends. I took the biggest leap of faith, and je ne regrette rien.

Now I have started my one month and a half long European summer adventure. My family is here from the US, and we will be traveling to Venice, Paris, and London.

Au revoir to the best semester of my life.

Bisous xx

 

 

