Two Weeks’ Notice

It hit me today that in two weeks I’m out of here, and in three days my semester abroad is over.

I remember when studying abroad was just an idea. This crazy idea that people will actually go to another country to attend classes – while simultaneously absorbing the culture, making new friends, and going on adventures. As a teenager, I couldn’t imagine anything else for myself. This was what I wanted, and nothing was going to stop me.

Studying abroad is still a very foreign concept back home in the States, and within reason. I think living in the US particularly, you feel like everything you could possibly need or want is there. It might not be in your city, or your state, but it’s somewhere in that massive country of ours. Personally, I never found this to be true because I’ve always believed that there is much more to the world than your immediate one.

The fact of the matter is that most people are content with never traveling or experiencing different cultures – and that’s perfectly okay! Studying abroad isn’t for everyone; but it is for me.

I’m extremely thankful to that high school me for having big dreams, and more importantly, the determination to fulfill them. I knew going into this semester that I would grow as a person, and it’s filling me with so much emotion that I did that, and so much more.

I kept telling myself that it will be over as soon as you know it, so you ought to live in the moment and do the things that you want to do. Five months later, there isn’t a day I regret.

Today marks the beginning of all my “lasts” here in Toulouse. I’m so sad to be leaving my adoptive city in two weeks! And the idea of saying goodbye to all the friends I’ve made this semester at our Erasmus gala on Wednesday night is putting a huge hole in my stomach.

But I shall continue doing what I’ve been doing this whole semester, and take it one day at a time.

xx

