Côte d’Azur

My life as an exchange student has been too surreal, and now that the end of the semester is near and summer is right around the corner, travel has been the only thing on my mind.

I arrived back to Toulouse a little before midnight on Tuesday, then not even 24 hours later, I’d be out of town again to the most jet-setting place in France (aside from Paris) – the French Riviera!

I have been deprived of the sea since I arrived here in Toulouse, so I was looking forward to these 3 days of sunshine and relaxation.

Arriving to the Nice airport on Wednesday night, I was eager to see the sea. Before going to bed that night, we took a short walk to the beach – which may I add is not a beach. I guess I still have to wait to feel the soft, sandy beaches between my toes.

IMG_8153IMG_8149

These sculptures in Place Masséna were interesting as well. The artist calls it “Conversation à Nice.” There are seven statues to represent the seven continents, and they each are facing the direction of their respective continent. Just thought that was an interesting piece of artwork.

Éze-Village

The first stop that we made in our Côte d’Azur getaway was to the cute little town of Éze.

IMG_8173 IMG_8174 IMG_8175 IMG_8185 IMG_8220 IMG_8221 IMG_8223 IMG_8226 IMG_8228

Éze is a medieval town, but walking around I felt like I ought to be wearing a sundress and floppy hat.

It was composed of many narrow walkways that we quickly learned would take us in circles – or technically, these odd shapes that resembled neither a circle or a rectangle. The village was a weird layout, but it was my favourite of the three places we’d see during this trip.

If I would describe Éze for someone, I would say that it’s a truly charming village. It’s somewhere I can see weddings taking place, and I wouldn’t be surprised if that is actually a thing there.

Monaco

IMG_8236 IMG_8237 IMG_8244 IMG_8245 IMG_8258 IMG_8273 IMG_8276 IMG_8277 IMG_8285 IMG_8288 IMG_8296 Monaco is luxury.

Being there, I never felt more aware of my lack in designer things, but if I ever became the type of person who buys another yacht and calls it “just another toy,” slap me on the wrist.

Monaco was great, though I could never imagine a lifestyle like that for myself. Even though we joked by saying we want to be the next princesses of Monaco or find a rich husband there, the place was ridiculous. Too high-roller for me.

Nice

IMG_8311IMG_8310  IMG_8313 IMG_8318 IMG_8319IMG_8327IMG_8328IMG_8332

Nice is the perfect starting point if you want access to any of the cities/towns of the Côte d’Azur.

It is also a wonderful city itself, with happy locals and loads of sunshine.

I actually told the girls this several times, but it didn’t feel like we were in France. Due to Nice being so close to Italy, a lot of Italian influence is seen in this coastal region. It was nice to be on holiday without leaving the country! Plus, the French people – who are stereotyped as being cold people – were so kind and friendly here. Warm weather equals warm people.

Actually, I was surprised to hear a lot of American accents. Turns out they all come to Nice in their 60s/70s. And not just older Americans, but also older English and Irish.

IMG_8334 IMG_8336

We ended the day in Villefranche-sur-Mer, in an attempt to sunbathe.

It was quite the fail due to the never-ending cloud cover over all of the French Riviera, but we could still feel the sun’s warmth. Or at least that’s what I kept telling myself as I took a nap on the tiny pebbled beach.

We were originally intending to go to Cap d’Ail because we heard great things about it, but we didn’t have the chance to make it out there to check it out for ourselves. There’s always next time, I guess!

IMG_8199

Until then, Côte d’Azur! xx

 

