Scotland

Scotland: with its majestic fresh water lochs, its mountains that are called Ben, its movie star Highlands where Skyfall and the Harry Potter series were filmed, and where you can experience 4 seasons in a day.

Because my aunt and her family are from the small town of Greenock, the vast majority of the week was spent there. For someone who loves the city and not having the whole town know my business, it’s quite different from what I’m used to. I personally could never do it, but good for all of those who can!

I just feel that there isn’t much to do in small towns, unless you have good company of course. Good company always changes everything. For myself, I love to be amongst people my age who are also figuring what they want in life. It was a shame that I was the outcast 20something (I’m technically not a 20something – I’m still 20) because I had no company where I was at in life in that family. Of course, there were people to talk to, but hopefully you understand what I mean.

But to my joy, I did have the opportunity to go out of town with my aunt to see Edinburgh, the Highlands/lochs, and Glasgow.

Edinburgh

Edinburgh was my favourite part of Scotland. Not just because the day we went was one, if not the only sunny days in the UK while I was there, but due to its Scottish charm as well. Anywhere you went, you wouldn’t be too far from a man in a kilt playing the bagpipes. Maybe it was only due to the fact that I was in Scotland, but there’s something about hearing the sound of pipes in the air!

Once we arrived, we went straight up to Edinburgh castle.

IMG_7560 IMG_7561IMG_7595IMG_7593

It was fun to explore the castle, and even better to see its views of Glasgow!

IMG_7584 IMG_7585 IMG_7589

After, we practically walked across town to hike Arthur’s Seat. If there was something like that here in Toulouse, or even closer to me in San Diego, I would go all the time. It was a great workout and even nicer to be in nature. On our way up, we saw so many locals perched on their own little rocks or on the ledges just reading their books and being one with nature. So nice.

IMG_7602 IMG_7610 IMG_7620 IMG_7621 IMG_7623 IMG_7630 IMG_7633 IMG_7635 IMG_7638

Like I said, it was a good hike. I can’t remember exactly how long it took us but it had to be a good couple of hours at least. But it was worth it.

Highlands
In order to see the true beauty of Scotland, it was necessary to visit the Highlands and lochs.

The best way to do so was by signing up for a “Scotland in a Day” Tour. It was a small group tour – there were 9 of us – plus our wee little Scotsman tour guide/bus driver. Starting and ending in Glasgow, he would drive us up through the Highlands and back. A full day of driving, with little pit stops along the way.

Screen Shot 2014-05-21 at 16.14.37

IMG_0705 IMG_0708 IMG_0709IMG_7660IMG_0721 IMG_0722IMG_7669IMG_0725IMG_7682IMG_7691 One of the reasons tourists choose to come to Scotland is to have the chance to look for the Loch Ness monster. It’s safe to say that Nessie is a shy one.

Glasgow

Glasgow, Glasgow, Glasgow. I quite liked the city feel – the atmosphere was electric! I think we were there on a Friday afternoon. Yet, there were so many people walking around and shopping! Made us all wonder why people weren’t working.

I think it was because the shopping is so great there. If I had the money and room in my carry-on, I would have had a field day. So, maybe it was a good thing to be in my situation after all.

As we strolled throughout the Glasgow shopping district, my eye was caught by Scottish girls with obvious fake tans, cute baby boys in strollers who say “Hiya!”, and a random Tardis.

IMG_7721

There was also this really awesome Scottish folk band called Clanadonia who were performing on this corner. The relatives we were with told me that people book them for their weddings, so that just tells you how great they are. Here’s a YouTube video of one of their street performances.

IMG_7726 IMG_7727

And of course, there were several pieces of street art. This was the one that I really liked.

IMG_7728 I have to say that most people want to go somewhere warm and sunny for their spring break holiday. I normally would too. It’s just if you have the opportunity to visit Scotland, you take it.

It was a pleasure to ‘av met ye. xx

