Carnaval de Toulouse

Qu’est-ce qui se passerait si on déguisait la ville? / What would happen if the city were disguised?

In the middle of Lenten season, carnival has made its appearance in Toulouse. I’m still trying to understand that part; Palm Sunday is a week away, Easter is two. Then again, this is France – and the French are a culture of the fashionably late.

Regardless, yesterday was the final day of Carnaval and it was celebrated with Le Grand Défilé / the Grand Parade on Pont Neuf.

If I had to sum up Toulousain Carnaval in 3 words, it would have to be costumes, crazy, and confetti! And loads of all three.

IMG_6618

Leading the procession was Monsieur Carnaval himself. He was on his way to his cremation, which I have to admit is a bit bizarre. But this is Carnival we’re talking about, and I can imagine bizarre-r.

IMG_6629

IMG_6633

 

IMG_6634

IMG_6663IMG_6670 IMG_6678

This little pirate boy was shooting confetti out of the ship’s canon. Pretty cheeky (and legit) if I say so myself.

I enjoyed the confetti actually. It was literally being thrown left and right, by the people in the parade and the people watching it. It made it feel like a real party: where nothing is taken too seriously and fun is 100% genuine.

IMG_6645 IMG_6671IMG_6682

We were also standing by children, so we were asking for it from the start.

IMG_6698IMG_6700IMG_6705IMG_6706IMG_6714IMG_6716

Seeing all the costumes and watching the floats go by reminded me so much of Disneyland. Of course, I’m going to make a reference to it. I get homesick (for Disneyland). Judge me.

Even look at this couple! They look like proper Dapper Day attendees.

IMG_6654

One of the reasons I chose to come to Toulouse was because of the people here. I was told that they are warmer and are happier. I believe the sun plays a huge role in that, and it was confirmed yesterday that a sunny day makes the whole city go play.

What I loved the most were the huge smiles on everyone’s faces.

There is no doubt that Toulousains know how to have a great time.

