And we’ll never be Royals – Galette des Rois

Une galette des rois – also known as King’s Cake or Epiphany Cake – is a type of dessert associated with Epiphany and the end of the Christmas season. It is a flaky puff pastry with a frangipane center. It is popular in countries such as France, Belgium, and Switzerland.

IMG_5577

The tradition is that the youngest person hides under the table, while someone cuts up the galette into as many pieces as guests. The person cutting the cake will ask: “Celle-ci c’est pour qui?” / “Who is this one for?”; and the youngest will say something like: “C’est pour Papa!” / “It’s for Papa! Then, once everyone is served their slice, everyone digs in! Baked into each galette is une fève / a figurine; so the hope is to have the piece with the little trinket. Whoever finds la fève becomes the King/Queen!

It’s honestly a very cute tradition. Ambre was the first to tell me about it; and ever since arriving in France, I noticed des galettes everywhere. Every time I visit la boulangère / the bakery, I’d see these delicious looking things with golden crowns.. Needless to say, I knew straight away that I wanted to take part in this tradition myself. The galettes are only sold in bakeries for the month of January. So, seeing that this month is already near its end, last night was the perfect time.

Qui sera la reine? / Who will be the queen?

IMG_5579

It was such a nice evening with the girls who were free to spend a couple of hours of their Monday evening. We shared deux galettes, a couple bottles of wine, and lots of laughs.

Crazy parties are okay every once in a while, but they will eventually get old. I mean, I’m already kind of over it. All I really need is good company and French pastries. Give me those, and I’m a happy girl.

Moi, je préfère des soirs comme celui-ci. 

