Not lucky, but blessed.

This will be a more personal/intimate post because there are certain things that I don’t necessarily feel comfortable talking about; and what I’m sure some people don’t feel comfortable reading. Having an opinion on something is good; and if you’re lucky enough to feel passion/trust/believe in something bigger than yourself, I think that’s beautiful. However, I have always felt that there are three topics that one should avoid when sharing opinions and beliefs. These are politics, religion, and… sports’ teams.

In all seriousness though, I do believe in the American values of freedom of speech and religion. However, I know the reality is that it isn’t a virtue for everyone: in the US, as well as around the world.

I would say that I am more religious than the majority, but to the possible dismay of my grandparents, I will admit that I am not the most devout Catholic out there. I have some opinions on some things, but I don’t want to get any more into that. Let’s just say that I’m old enough to make my own decisions and think for my own. I’m 20.

This isn’t a rant, by the way. I just would like to write about my Sunday morning.

Yesterday in Carcassonne, I found out that one of the girls is a practicing Catholic. I mean, I would have still searched for une église / a church, and attend mass alone if that were to be the case. Serendipity is always pleasant and it’s nice to have company.

Anyways, I found out about this English-speaking morning mass last Sunday. I just missed it, which was a shame; so I made sure today that I would make it out to this beautiful church located near to Capitole.

IMG_5554

IMG_5553

We arrived 15 minutes before mass, and it was incredible to sit in silence and awe of the church. My favourite thing is the stained-glass windows.

A couple minutes later, the Liturgical coordinator of the church approached us at our pew. I couldn’t possibly imagine what he was going to tell us, but then it hit me right before he started to speak. He wanted one of us to do the First reading.

Of course my friend wasn’t going to do it, and I just couldn’t leave them hanging. So I said: “Okay, sure.”

So basically, I just crossed something off my study abroad Bucket List that wasn’t even on it. I don’t even think I’ve read at a mass in the States. Now I can say I did so in France.

I’ve felt a little overwhelmed, as I’m still getting acclimated and established in my new city. This past week was really hard for me because I feel as if I’ve hit my first roadblock. French isn’t an easy language at all, why did I decide to try learning it again?

The beginning is always the hardest. It’s just so frustrating not being able to express myself, defend myself, do simple things like talk to the cashier. The honeymoon phase is, needless to say, over. And despite everything, being in a church eases my anxieties. I am glad to have found this gem, and I am so blessed to even be here.

Here’s to a new (and hopefully, better) week.

