Ce qui m’effraye et m’émerveille

That which terrifies me and fills me with wonder.

I’m boarding the plane that will take me to foreign land in less than 2 hours. For 7 months. And it is hitting me now like a ton of bricks.

I never imagined that it’d get here so fast. I had this crazy idea of spending a whole semester abroad for years now, since high school. I can’t help but feel so many different emotions that my goal, my dream is coming true.

Honestly, I am terrified; but I believe it’s a good terrified. A terrified that everyone should embrace rather than brush off because you’re out of your comfort zone. As Eleanor Roosevelt said, “Do one thing everyday that scares you.” Or in my case, do the thing that scares you the most. The terrified feeling that I am experiencing encompasses so many things that it itself is an enigma. The possibility that I could hate this whole experience; or even scarier, that I could have such an attachment to it that I never want to come back home. The chance at opportunities that only come once in life. The risk of falling in love. This upcoming adventure is so intimidating; but I’m going for it.

The amount of love and support I’ve received/am receiving is so overwhelming. It’s enough to make a grown man cry; and a 20 year-old girl lose her composure sitting at this airport gate. I am so blessed and grateful for you all; and thank you from the bottom of my heart for supporting me.

This will be my last post in my Avant le départ category on this blog because tomorrow I will be in the City of Lights to celebrate NYE and spend the first few days of the new year in Paris.

I am so anxious and excited for my adventure to begin, and I will be taking you along on the journey.

Stay tuned, for the real fun is just about to begin.

