La vie n’est pas une corvée, mais une merveilleuse aventure.

Life is not a chore, but a marvelous adventure.

As the end of the year gets closer, I can’t help but feel both extreme gratitude for the year that has passed and genuine excitement for the year to come. With all the hustle and bustle of finals, the holidays, and preparations for my semester abroad, I haven’t really had the ability  to think about anything for a long duration of time. However, after my friend asked me what it is that I have on my list of things to do while I’m abroad, it’s been looming in the back of my head that I have half a year to see, do, experience EVERYTHING that France and western Europe has to offer, or well most everything. Can’t be too eager.

Sure, I am there first and foremost for my studies. It’s the politically correct term we’re going with. I will be 100% honest, though; and Mom, Dad, IB advisors: if you are reading this “hi!” but I don’t want school to be the most important thing to me when I’m there. I only need to pass because it’s transferring back as credit/no credit. I sound like a complete nob. Of course I still want to do well, I’m programmed that way. It’s just I’ve always been the one take my studies assez serieuses. Not so much so since I’ve started university. Because let’s be real, you can’t be a straight-A student forever.

During mes rêveries this weekend, I found myself watching Audrey Hepburn films. I absolutely adore her, and I have never felt such an urge to be a Sabrina, a Jo, and even a Princess Ann. To live my own adventure. This rapidly approaching experience is exactly what I’ve been waiting for. I want to completely immerse myself in the European lifestyle, and come back with a new outlook on everything. After all, life is a marvelous adventure.

audreyhepburnfunnyface

Et mes amis, I have had some time to think about what I want to do and see while I’m there… Stay tuned for that post.

