Bientôt

Since receiving my official acceptance letter into the French university, it has been an absolute whirlwind; but I am happy to say that everything seems to be falling right into place.

I’ve created a mental check-list of what’s done and what still has to be done. There is no doubt that there is still so much left to do, including applying for my student visa AND booking my flight, which raises my anxiety level just a little bit. However, I’ve already secured a place to live (which is very reassuring) and have been in touch with my school’s Welcome Team. There will be 62 of us international exchange students, coming from the US, Australia, Korea, Denmark, India, Mexico, Canada, and more.

I think the hardest part about planning a study abroad experience is having to do so while you’re still in the midst of this school semester. Having to balance reading textbooks, writing essays, and those dreaded group projects with filling out applications, applying for scholarships, and searching for flights, it’s quite the feat. It’s no wonder that at the initial SA Orientation, they stressed the “don’t let your grades slip!”

So, with roughly six weeks until Orientation Day, five until Christmas, three until Finals, and one until Thanksgiving, the end of the year and the beginning of the next is coming very fast. I just wish I had a bit more time, but I am very anxious to get to France. I’ll be an honorary Toulousain soon.

 

A “how am I feeling” update: I’ve actually been alright. Only two break-downs. I’ve experienced worse.

